Elections to the Executive Committee

Skip to Navigation

Skip to Search

May I first express our sincere thanks to Jack Bicker, Amanda Fulford and Doret De Ruyter for their service to the Executive Committee of the PESGB. 

At the 2020 AGM, elections will be conducted for the positions of three elected members. 

Nominations are therefore invited for the positions three Elected Members.

Elected member

Elected members represent interests of the wider membership and contribute to a range of discussions and decisions concerning the management of the society’s business. Elected members of the Executive committee normally are required to attend two meetings per year. These meetings normally take place in late March (one day before the annual conference in Oxford) and mid-November (normally in London). They are elected for a term of three years. Retiring members are not eligible for re-election for two years.  

All normal expenses incurred in fulfilling these roles are reimbursed.

Proxy votes for nominated candidates will be accepted at the AGM. Nominees should be proposed and seconded and should indicate their consent. Members who wish to nominate someone to these positions should email the Secretary, David Lewin (david.lewin@strath.ac.uk) and the Society Administrators (pesgb@sasevents.co.uk), copying the seconder and the candidate. In order to allow members who cannot attend the AGM an opportunity to get to know the candidates, we ask that candidates please prepare a short statement (500 words maximum) outlining the basis on which they stand accompanying or following nomination. Statements must be sent to the Secretary, David Lewin (david.lewin@strath.ac.uk) and the Society Administrators (pesgb@sasevents.co.uk) so that they can be published on the website: www.philosophy-of-education.org. Candidates are also welcome to submit a photo if they wish.

Timeline for nominations

  • Nominations open: 1st October 2019
  • Nominations update (profiles on website): 1st December 2019
  • Nominations close: 6th January 2020
  • Final list of nominations published: 20th January 2020

The society depends greatly on its members to give up their time to serve on the Executive Committee and we warmly encourage all members to consider putting themselves forward.

Find out more about being part of the executive by hearing from some members talking about their experiences here.

David Lewin
October 2019


Nominations have been received from the following.  To read the profiles of the nominees please click on the relevant name:

Alison Brady
Laura D’Olimpio
Karsten Kenklies
Naziya O’Reilly 
Qasir Shah
Philip Tonner
Joris Vlieghe