Election of Officers and Executive Committee Members (2022)

In March 2021, elections will be conducted for various positions on the PESGB Executive Committee. The following text from the constitution outlines the terms of office:

Under the terms of the constitution, the President is elected for life. The Chair is elected for three years, one year in advance of taking up office, and is normally ineligible for immediate re-election. During the year prior to taking up office, the person elected as Chair (Chair-elect) takes the role of Vice-Chair. The Secretary, Treasurer, Conference Programme Chair and Conference Organiser are elected for a period of three years and are eligible for immediate re¬-election. Six members of the Society are elected as members of the Executive Committee for a term of three years. The retiring members are not eligible for re-election for two years. The retiring President or Chair shall be eligible for election at an Annual General Meeting to the honorary title of Vice-President.  

Vacant Positions

There will be elections to the following positions on the Executive Committee in 2022:

  • Chair-elect (Vice-chair)
  • Conference Chair
  • Two elected members

 Chair-elect (Vice-chair): The Chair-elect takes the role of Vice-chair for one year before becoming Chair of the Society.

Conference Chair: The role of the Conference Chair is to work with the Conference Organiser, the Conference Committee and the administrative team to arrange and oversee the organisation of the conference programme. The Conference Chair is eligible for immediate re-election.

Elected member: Elected members represent interests of the wider membership and contribute to a range of discussions and decisions concerning the management of the Society’s business. Elected members of the Executive Committee are required to attend two meetings per year. These meetings normally take place in late March (on the first day of the Annual Conference) and in mid-November. Elected members are elected for a term of three years. Retiring members are not be eligible for re-election for two years.

All normal expenses incurred in fulfilling these roles are reimbursed.


Nominees should be proposed and seconded and should indicate their consent. Members who wish to nominate someone to these positions should email the Secretary, David Lewin ([email protected]) and the admin team ([email protected]), copying the nominee and the seconder. Nominations close at 5pm on 7th January 2022.

We ask that nominees please prepare a short statement (500 words maximum) outlining the basis on which they stand. Statements must be sent to the Secretary, David Lewin ([email protected]) and the admin team ([email protected]) by Monday 17th January 2022 so that they can be published on the website. Candidates are welcome to submit a photo if they wish.

Timeline for nominations

  • Nominations open: 1 November 2021
  • Nomination’s update (profiles uploaded to website): 1 December 2021
  • Nominations close: 7 January 2022
  • Final list of nominations published: 21 January 2022


The 2022 elections will take place virtually. Members will be sent instructions on how to vote to their registered email address. The voting will open on Monday 28th February 2022 and close at 5pm Friday 18th March 2022 (UK time).


Results will be announced at the 2022 AGM. Details to follow.

The Society depends greatly on its members to give up their time to serve on the Executive Committee and we warmly encourage all members to consider putting themselves forward.

David Lewin