The Executive Committee has a number of sub-committees:

  • Development Committee – promotes the development of philosophy of education both abroad and amongst new scholars in the UK. In recent years, we have focused on developing philosophy of education in Africa, amongst school teachers in the UK and amongst early-career, mid-career and ‘new’ researchers in philosophy of education. 
  • Finance and General Purposes Committee – oversees the finances of the society and manages tasks delegated by the Executive committee.
  • Large Grants Committee – oversees the award and management of the grants that the society is able to award from time to time.
  • Race and Ethnicity Committee – promotes inclusion in the society.


As the online prescence of PESGB has developed, so has our need to manage a robust website and social media feeds.  We also have a steering group to manage these aspects of our work:

Website and Social Media Steering Group

Chair: Mary Richardson – [email protected]
Committee: Ruth Heilbronn, Oli Belas (Blog), Gatley (News), Sharon Smith (Social Media)

This group manages development of the PESGB website and its linked social media strands: Twitter, and Facebook. We welcome members who might be able to give time to help us develop this side of our work to promote the work of the Society globally within online contexts.  If you wish to promote Philosophy of Education work or ideas via the website or on social media, please get in touch with Mary.  

BLOG  – In 2020 we launched the PESGB Blog.  If you have an idea for a blog, please contact Oli Belas – [email protected]